What you’ll learn in this article…
- North Carolina's master's-level teachers earn a 10% salary supplement that can exceed $100,000 in cumulative extra pay over 20 years.
- Fully online M.Ed. programs are available at multiple NC public universities, with net prices starting well below $20,000.
- Most NC institutions now offer GRE waivers or test-optional admissions for M.Ed. applicants, lowering a major barrier to entry.
- Specializations range from curriculum and instruction to higher education administration across more than a dozen NC schools.
North Carolina's state salary schedule pays master's-holding teachers a 10% supplement over the bachelor's scale, a gap that can exceed $100,000 in cumulative earnings over a 20-year career. That financial incentive, combined with the state's tiered licensure system, makes the M.Ed. one of the most direct levers for both pay advancement and credential upgrades available to Tar Heel educators.
The state's pipeline is broad: 25 ranked programs span UNC system flagships, regional publics, HBCUs, and private universities, with in-state graduate tuition ranging from roughly $6,600 at Fayetteville State to over $66,000 at Duke. Specializations cover curriculum and instruction, educational leadership, special education, TESOL, higher education, and initial licensure tracks for career changers. Fully online, hybrid, and campus formats are all well represented. The real challenge is not finding a program but matching the right one to your licensure tier, budget, and career timeline.
Best Master's in Education Programs in North Carolina
North Carolina offers an unusually rich mix of master's in education options, from flagship public universities and private research institutions to flexible online programs built around in-service teachers' schedules. The programs below rank among the state's strongest by a blend of academic reputation, graduate outcomes, and support for North Carolina educators. As you compare them, keep an eye on licensure outcomes: several lead directly to initial or advanced state credentials, which matters for your career path and pay.
- Program breadth and specialization
- Graduation and retention rates
- Licensure pathway alignment
- Affordability and financial support
- Flexibility for working educators
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
- Independent editorial research
| Rank | School | Location | Net price | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | Chapel Hill, NC | $13,000/yr | Experienced early childhood teachers seeking advanced licensure | |
This public flagship university is a powerhouse for educator preparation, with a field-based M.Ed. for experienced early childhood teachers and a 13-month Master of Arts in Teaching with elementary, secondary, and special education tracks. Its teacher candidates complete internships in high-performing Triangle-area districts and typically land jobs in the same systems. The university has an institution-wide graduation rate of 91%.
| |||||
| #2 | Duke University | Durham, NC | ~$67,000/yr (est.) | Career changers pursuing secondary teaching careers | |
This private research university pairs a year-long Master of Arts in Teaching with a 27-week internship in Durham Public Schools, preparing teachers for initial North Carolina licensure across four secondary subjects. Fellowship funding can reduce the cost substantially, and graduates are well connected to statewide policy networks. The university reports an institution-wide graduation rate of 97%.
| |||||
| #3 | North Carolina State University at Raleigh | Raleigh, NC | $12,000 – $33,000/yr | Working teachers needing flexible online M.Ed. paths | |
This public land-grant university offers one of the widest M.Ed. portfolios in the state, spanning curriculum and instruction, special education, learning design and technology, school administration, and online MAT pathways for career changers. Several online options are designed for practicing North Carolina teachers seeking advanced licensure or instructional leadership roles. The university has an institution-wide graduation rate of 85%.
No entrance exam
No entrance exam
No entrance exam
No entrance exam
| |||||
| #4 | Wake Forest University | Winston-Salem, NC | $35,000 – $40,000/yr | ||
This private university offers a single, focused Master of Educational Leadership with licensure, non-licensure, and independent school pathways. Candidates study school law, finance, and instructional leadership, with licensure students completing two 15-week internships in schools. The institution-wide graduation rate is 89%.
| |||||
| #5 | Elon University | Elon, NC | $22,000/yr | ||
This private university's M.Ed. in Special Education General Curriculum is built for experienced teachers who want to support K-12 students with mild to moderate disabilities. The program blends assessment, instructional technology, and classroom management with an action research project, and a summer cohort option fits the traditional school-year calendar. The university has an institution-wide graduation rate of 84%.
| |||||
| #6 | University of North Carolina Wilmington | Wilmington, NC | $8,000 – $24,000/yr | ||
This public coastal university anchors teacher preparation in southeastern North Carolina, with a no-entrance-exam MAT for secondary licensure, a hybrid higher education degree, and an online AIG program for in-service teachers. Students gain field experience in high-need districts across the Wilmington region. The university's institution-wide graduation rate is 71%. No entrance examTest optional
Employer tuition reimbursement
No entrance examTest optional
| |||||
| #7 | University of North Carolina at Charlotte | Charlotte, NC | $5,000 – $10,000/yr | ||
This large public university is one of North Carolina's biggest producers of advanced-licensed educators, and its online M.Ed. options are especially popular among working teachers. Programs span curriculum and instruction, ESL, special education, and higher education leadership. The university has an institution-wide graduation rate of 69%.
| |||||
| #8 | East Carolina University | Greenville, NC | $8,000/yr | ||
This public university's College of Education carries a strong regional mission to serve eastern North Carolina's rural and high-need districts. Its online MAEd in Curriculum and Instruction offers three specialized tracks, each requiring a Teacher Action Research Project that teachers apply in their own classrooms. The institution-wide graduation rate is 63%. No entrance exam
No entrance exam
No entrance exam
| |||||
| #9 | Western Carolina University | Cullowhee, NC | ~$8,000/yr (est.) | ||
This public university in the western North Carolina mountains offers a small-cohort M.Ed. in Higher Education Student Affairs with guaranteed paid graduate assistantships and strong placement into UNC System and community college roles. The program emphasizes equity-minded practice and the rural Appalachian context. The institution-wide graduation rate is 60%. No entrance exam
| |||||
| #10 | University of North Carolina at Greensboro | Greensboro, NC | $9,000/yr | ||
This public research university's School of Education is well regarded nationally, and its fully online TESOL M.Ed. is a common choice for in-service teachers seeking ESL add-on licensure. Campus-based options include student affairs administration and secondary mathematics teaching. The university has an institution-wide graduation rate of 56%.
| |||||
Most Affordable M.ed. Programs in North Carolina
When comparing M.Ed. programs, it helps to look beyond the sticker price. Published tuition is the listed rate before any grants, scholarships, or institutional aid are applied. Net price reflects what students actually pay on average after that aid is factored in, giving you a more realistic picture of out-of-pocket costs. Among these five most affordable options, four are available fully online or offer online pathways, making them strong value picks for working teachers who need scheduling flexibility.
| School | In-State Tuition | Out-of-State Tuition | Average Net Price | Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elizabeth City State University | $8,911 | $21,973 | $6,364 | Online |
| Fayetteville State University | $6,791 | $17,856 | $7,892 | Campus |
| University of North Carolina at Pembroke | $6,928 | $19,987 | $10,260 | Online |
| North Carolina A&T State University | $8,368 | $21,168 | $10,846 | Online |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro | $8,614 | $23,329 | $10,965 | Online |
Questions to Ask Yourself
Best Online M.ed. Programs in North Carolina
North Carolina's public and private universities have expanded online and hybrid M.Ed. options significantly, giving working teachers and career changers flexible ways to earn an advanced degree without relocating. The key is knowing which programs are fully online, which require occasional campus visits, and what actually makes a degree credible in the eyes of hiring committees.
Fully Online Options
Several well-regarded NC institutions deliver their M.Ed. programs entirely online. NC State University offers its Curriculum and Instruction M.Ed. with on-campus, online, and hybrid delivery, and it carries CAEP accreditation. UNC Charlotte runs a 100% asynchronous online M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction with an elementary education concentration, designed so licensed teachers never need to set foot on campus. East Carolina University's Curriculum and Instruction MAEd is also fully online, with optional face-to-face components for students who want them. UNC Greensboro delivers its TESOL-focused M.Ed. in a 100% online format with three start dates per year.
Other online programs worth noting include Elizabeth City State University's M.Ed. in Elementary Education, UNC Pembroke's M.A.T. with an elementary education specialization, Lenoir-Rhyne University's M.A. in Teaching, Wingate University's online M.A.T. (K-6), and North Carolina A&T State University's online M.A.T. in Elementary Education. Methodist University and the University of Mount Olive both offer fully online M.Ed. programs in Educational Leadership, as does Carolina University. For a broader look at how these stack up nationally, see our guide to the best online master's in education degree programs.
Hybrid Programs That Require Some Campus Time
Meredith College blends in-person, hybrid, and online courses across its M.Ed. concentrations, with evening classes designed for working professionals. High Point University's M.Ed. in Educational Leadership uses a hybrid cohort model, with classes held on campus, off campus at partner sites, or online. If you prefer some in-person interaction but still need scheduling flexibility, these models split the difference.
What NC School Districts Actually Value
A common concern among prospective students is whether an online M.Ed. will be viewed differently by school districts compared to a traditional campus degree. In practice, North Carolina districts evaluate credentials through two lenses: regional accreditation and state or national program approval. Programs accredited by CAEP (the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation) or approved by the NC Department of Public Instruction carry the same weight regardless of delivery format. NC State, UNC Charlotte, East Carolina, and UNC Greensboro all hold CAEP accreditation for their online offerings. An online M.Ed. from a CAEP-accredited program leads to the same Advanced licensure that a campus-based degree does, and districts make no distinction on the salary schedule.
Comparing Online and Campus Tuition
Online programs at public universities often share the same in-state tuition structure as their campus counterparts, though some charge differential rates. At East Carolina, in-state graduate tuition for the online Curriculum and Instruction program runs roughly $7,658, which closely mirrors on-campus rates. UNC Charlotte's online M.Ed. costs about $8,037 for in-state students. At private institutions, tuition tends to be format-neutral: Wingate charges $455 per credit whether you attend online or in person, totaling around $11,864 for 36 credits. The real savings with online programs often come from eliminating commuting costs, parking fees, and time away from your classroom. If you are exploring accelerated timelines to reduce overall cost, one-year M.Ed. programs may also be worth considering.
A Note on Earnings Data
Program-level earnings outcomes for these online M.Ed. programs are not yet available through federal reporting sources. That said, institution-wide median earnings ten years after enrollment range from roughly $40,000 at smaller schools to over $68,000 at North Carolina State University at Raleigh, providing a general sense of the earning trajectory for graduates of these universities. As more program-specific data becomes available, mastersineducation.org will incorporate it into future updates.
NC M.ed. Programs by Specialization
North Carolina offers M.Ed. and M.A.T. programs across a wide range of specializations, each with distinct formats, price points, and career outcomes. The table below groups programs from the dataset by concentration area so you can quickly compare your options. Within Curriculum and Instruction specifically, note that programs split into two completion tracks: a thesis track (built around original research, a literature review, data collection, and a formal oral defense) suited to candidates eyeing doctoral study or research roles, and a capstone track (centered on action research, curriculum design projects, or school improvement proposals) designed for working teachers and instructional coaches who want to solve real classroom problems without producing a traditional dissertation.
| Specialization | Programs in Dataset | Typical Format | In-State Tuition Range | Key Details |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Curriculum and Instruction | 4 | Mostly online; some campus and hybrid options | $7,658 (East Carolina) to $16,347 (Campbell) | 30 to 33 credit hours. NC State, UNC Charlotte, and East Carolina offer fully online delivery. Thesis track requires a faculty advisor, original research, and oral defense. Capstone track emphasizes action research or curriculum design projects with a written report and presentation. |
| Teaching (M.A.T.) | 7 | Mix of online, campus, and hybrid | $6,597 (Winston-Salem State) to $66,523 (Duke) | Typically 30 to 36 credit hours. Designed for career changers and initial licensure candidates. Most include field experiences, clinical practicums, or student teaching. Duke pairs its program with a Durham Public Schools partnership; Wingate and Lenoir-Rhyne offer fully online paths. |
| Special Education | 3 | Campus and hybrid | $6,791 (Fayetteville State) to $22,086 (Elon) | 33 to 36 credit hours. Concentrations include general curriculum K-12, specific learning disabilities, and behavioral-emotional disabilities. Fayetteville State and Elon require Praxis II for licensure. Meredith College offers a hybrid model with evening classes for working teachers. |
| Educational Leadership | 4 | Primarily online and hybrid | $12,550 (Carolina University) to $39,141 (Wake Forest) | 36 credit hours typical. Several programs lead to NC principal licensure. High Point University uses a cohort model with three internship experiences. Wake Forest offers both licensure and non-licensure pathways. |
| Higher Education | 1 | Campus (cohort-based) | $7,876 (Western Carolina) | 39 credit hours over 21 months. Small cohorts of 10 to 15 students. Guaranteed paid graduate assistantships. Aligned with ACPA/NASPA professional competencies. Reports 100% job placement rate. |
| TESOL and Multilingual Learners | 1 | 100% online | $8,614 (UNC Greensboro) | 30 credit hours with fall, spring, or summer start options. Designed for K-12 teachers working with English learners. Full-time and part-time pacing available. |
| Elementary Education | 2 | Online and campus | $8,911 (Elizabeth City State) to $14,364 (Mars Hill) | 30 credit hours typical. Elizabeth City State offers a fully online program that prepares candidates for National Board Certification. Mars Hill emphasizes evidence-based literacy practices and the MTSS framework. |
| Early Childhood Education | 1 | Campus (hyflex) | $12,751 (UNC Chapel Hill) | 30 to 34 credit hours over two years. Part-time, field-based format for experienced teachers. Focuses on early childhood intervention and family support in inclusive settings. Admission each spring with a summer start. |
Schools in North Carolina
Related Articles
North Carolina Teacher Licensure and M.ed. Pathways
Understanding how a master's degree connects to your North Carolina teaching license is essential before you invest time and tuition. The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) governs all educator licensure in the state, and earning an M.Ed. can unlock higher pay, advanced credentials, and new career pathways.
Moving From an A License to an M License
North Carolina issues a Class A professional license to educators who hold a bachelor's degree and meet all other licensure requirements. When you complete a master's degree in your licensure area or a related educational field from a regionally accredited institution, you become eligible to upgrade to a Class M license.1 The M license signals advanced content and pedagogical expertise and, importantly, places you on a higher step of the state salary schedule.
The upgrade process is straightforward. You submit an application through the NCDPI Online Licensure System, provide an official transcript showing the conferred degree, and pay a $55 application fee (as of the 2025-2026 cycle).1 There is no additional exam required for the upgrade itself, though your M.Ed. program must align with the area in which you are already licensed or with a recognized related field.
Add-On Endorsements Through M.Ed. Tracks
Many M.Ed. programs in North Carolina are structured so that coursework simultaneously fulfills the requirements for an add-on licensure endorsement.2 Three of the most common endorsements pursued through graduate study include:
- Academically/Intellectually Gifted (AIG): Requires 12 to 18 credit hours through an approved add-on licensure program. No separate Praxis exam is required, making this one of the more accessible endorsements to earn alongside a master's degree in curriculum and instruction or a related concentration.2
- English as a Second Language (ESL): Can be earned through a standalone licensure-only pathway or through an M.Ed. in ESL or TESOL. Candidates must pass the Praxis ESL (ESOL) exam.2
- Reading Specialist: Typically pursued through an M.Ed. in reading and literacy or a post-baccalaureate program. Candidates must pass the Praxis Reading Specialist exam.2
When choosing an M.Ed. program, confirm that the institution's specific track is approved by NCDPI for the endorsement you want. Not every master's concentration automatically qualifies.
Pathways for Lateral Entry and Residency License Holders
North Carolina replaced the former lateral entry designation with the Residency License, which is available to individuals who hold at least a bachelor's degree and have a job offer from a North Carolina school but did not complete a traditional educator preparation program.1 Residency License holders must enroll in an approved Educator Preparation Program (EPP), and the license is valid for up to three years, with the possibility of one renewal for a total maximum of four years.1
An M.Ed. program that includes an approved EPP component can serve double duty for these candidates, satisfying both the degree requirement for the M license and the preparation requirement for full professional licensure. If you entered teaching through a nontraditional route, look for programs that explicitly advertise residency license support or initial licensure tracks at the graduate level.
For the most current rules, fee schedules, and approved program lists, always check directly with NCDPI. Licensure policies can shift between legislative sessions, and the department's educator licensure pages remain the authoritative reference for North Carolina teachers.
How an M.ed. Affects Your Salary in North Carolina
North Carolina's 2025-2026 salary schedule pays teachers who hold a master's degree (M license) a 10% supplement over the bachelor's-level (A license) scale. That premium compounds as you gain experience: over a 20-year career, the cumulative salary difference can exceed $130,000. Median graduate debt at many NC public universities falls between $14,000 and $23,000, which means most teachers recoup their investment within roughly two to four years of earning the higher pay lane.

How to Choose the Right M.ed. Program in North Carolina
Selecting the right M.Ed. program is not just about prestige or proximity. It is a strategic decision that should align with your career goals, budget, and licensure needs. The framework below can help you evaluate your options methodically.
Match the Format to Your Life
North Carolina offers campus-based, fully online, and hybrid M.Ed. programs. If you are teaching full time, an asynchronous online program may be the most realistic path. If you want cohort-based networking or access to on-campus research labs, a traditional or hybrid format may serve you better. Neither format is inherently superior, but the wrong fit can derail your progress.
Align Your Specialization With a Career Outcome
An M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction suits classroom teachers who want to deepen pedagogical expertise, while a concentration in School Administration prepares you for a principal's license. Literacy specializations, such as a master's in reading and literacy, higher education tracks, and STEM education focuses each open different doors. Before committing, ask yourself where you want to be in five years and work backward from that goal.
Verify Accreditation and State Approval
Two filters should be non-negotiable. First, confirm the program holds CAEP (Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation) accreditation. Second, check that the NC Department of Public Instruction recognizes the program for the license or endorsement you need. A degree from an unaccredited or unapproved program can leave you with student debt and no advancement pathway.
Confirm Your District Accepts the Degree for Salary Advancement
Not every M.Ed. automatically qualifies you for a salary lane change in your school district. Before you enroll, contact your district's human resources office and ask specifically whether the program you are considering is accepted for pay increases. Some districts maintain approved-program lists, and discovering your degree does not qualify after graduation is a costly surprise.
Compare Net Price, Not Sticker Tuition
Published tuition rates rarely tell the full story. Factor in fees, required campus visits for online programs, and any technology charges. Then look at the financial aid package you actually receive. The federal College Scorecard publishes debt and earnings data for many programs, and reviewing those figures gives you a reality check on whether the investment pays off relative to what graduates actually earn. A program with lower sticker tuition but minimal aid can end up costing more than a pricier school that offers strong assistantships or employer tuition reimbursement.
A Quick Checklist Before You Apply
- Format: Does the schedule work with your current teaching load?
- Specialization: Does the concentration map to a specific license, endorsement, or career goal?
- Accreditation: Is the program CAEP-accredited and approved by NC DPI?
- District acceptance: Has your HR office confirmed the degree counts for salary lane advancement?
- True cost: Have you compared net price after aid, not just published tuition?
- Outcomes data: Have you reviewed graduate debt and earnings figures on the College Scorecard?
Working through these questions before you submit a single application can save you thousands of dollars and years of frustration.
Admissions Requirements for NC M.ed. Programs
Admissions standards vary widely across North Carolina M.Ed. programs, and a clear trend has emerged: most schools have moved toward GRE waivers or test-optional policies. The table below compares key requirements at major NC institutions. Keep in mind that institution-wide admission rates reflect undergraduate selectivity and do not indicate how competitive a specific M.Ed. program is. Always verify current requirements directly with each program, as policies can shift from one cycle to the next.
| School | Minimum GPA | GRE Policy | Teaching Experience Required | Institution Admission Rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UNC-Chapel Hill | 3.0 | Waived | Yes (experienced teachers only) | 15.3% | MEdX program is field-based and part-time; starts in summer |
| Duke University | Not published | Required (check program) | Not required | 5.7% | MAT is a 12-month cohort with 27-week internship |
| NC State University | 3.0 | MAT exam accepted; entrance exam required | Not specified | 41.7% | Interview required; limited cohort spaces |
| UNC-Charlotte | 3.0 | Not required | Yes (teaching license required) | 79.6% | 100% online; designed for licensed, working teachers |
| East Carolina University | Not published | Not required | Not specified | 89.2% | CAEP accredited; offers full-time and part-time tracks |
| Western Carolina University | 3.0 | Not required | Not specified | 81.8% | Cohort-based; three letters of recommendation required |
| UNC Wilmington | Not published | Not required (test optional) | Recommends experience with high school students | 64.2% | One-year cohort program; summer start |
| Elon University | 2.5 | Required (GRE or MAT) | Yes (minimum one year) | 66.4% | Summer cohort option; three letters of recommendation |
| UNC-Greensboro | Not published | Not specified | Not specified | 88.5% | 100% online; three start dates per year |
| North Carolina A&T State University | 2.8 | Not required | Not required (designed for career changers) | 49.9% | Online MAT pathway; edTPA portfolio assessment required |
Frequently Asked Questions About NC M.ed. Programs
Choosing a master's in education program in North Carolina involves weighing cost, format, licensure pathways, and career outcomes. Below are answers to the questions prospective students ask most often, drawn from the program and salary data discussed throughout this guide.
What are the most respected online M.Ed. programs in North Carolina?
Programs at UNC Chapel Hill, NC State, Appalachian State, and East Carolina University consistently earn high marks from school districts across the state. These institutions hold CAEP accreditation, maintain strong alumni networks in NC public schools, and appear regularly in national rankings. District hiring committees tend to recognize degrees from these schools as rigorous and practice oriented.
Which M.Ed. programs in North Carolina lead to teacher licensure?
Several NC universities offer M.Ed. tracks that satisfy initial or advanced licensure requirements set by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Programs at UNC Charlotte, UNC Greensboro, Western Carolina, and East Carolina include licensure pathways in areas such as elementary education, special education, and secondary content fields. Always confirm that a specific concentration meets licensure standards before enrolling.
How much does a master's in education cost in North Carolina?
Tuition for M.Ed. programs in North Carolina ranges from roughly $9,000 to over $40,000 for the full degree, depending on the institution and residency status. In-state students at public universities such as Fayetteville State and Western Carolina often pay at the lower end, while private institutions like Wake Forest and Duke carry higher price tags. See the affordability table earlier in this article for a program-by-program comparison.
Are there fully online M.Ed. programs available in North Carolina?
Yes. Multiple NC institutions, including East Carolina University, Appalachian State, NC State, and UNC Wilmington, offer fully online M.Ed. programs across specializations like curriculum and instruction, educational leadership, and instructional technology. These programs typically follow asynchronous formats, making them a strong fit for working teachers who cannot attend in-person classes.
How does a master's in education affect teacher salary in North Carolina?
North Carolina's state salary schedule provides a pay supplement for teachers holding a master's degree, which can add roughly $126 to $253 per month depending on experience. Over a 30-year career, that premium can total well over $50,000 in additional earnings. Combined with potential moves into higher-paying roles such as curriculum coordinator or assistant principal, the long-term financial return is significant.
Do NC M.Ed. programs require the GRE?
Many North Carolina M.Ed. programs have moved away from requiring the GRE. Schools such as East Carolina, UNC Charlotte, and Appalachian State either waive the exam entirely or accept alternative criteria like a minimum undergraduate GPA or professional teaching experience. A few programs still require standardized test scores, so check each school's current admissions page for the latest policy.
More M.ed. Programs in North Carolina to Consider
The following schools also offer strong M.Ed. programs across North Carolina. While they are not in our top 10, each provides high-quality graduate education in various specializations. Programs are grouped by region for easy browsing.







