What you’ll learn in this article…
- Career changers can enter Initial licensure programs with only a bachelor's degree.
- TEACH Grants pay up to $4,000 a year for future special educators.
- Special education teachers earned a $67,170 national median in May 2025.
Massachusetts issues special education licenses through DESE, and the Professional license that follows an Initial one requires a master's degree. That rule alone explains why so many working teachers here return to graduate study within a few years of being hired.
Cost and fieldwork create the real tension. Practicum hours are supervised, school-day scheduled and usually unpaid, while tuition swings from state-university rates to private-college rates for the same license.
Career changers enter on an Initial track; licensed teachers take the shorter post-licensure route. The deciding factor is rarely the degree name. It is who places you in a classroom.
10 Massachusetts Special Education Master's Programs, Ranked
Massachusetts special education master's programs split sharply by format: some run fully online for teachers who need to keep working, others keep candidates in school-based practica across Greater Boston, the North Shore and the Pioneer Valley. The ten below pair substantial completion numbers with licensure pathways the state recognizes, and each entry notes the graduate tuition and the scheduling details that decide whether you can actually finish.
- Program completion and graduate counts
- Median earnings after graduation
- Typical graduate debt
- Institution-wide graduation rates
- Published graduate tuition per program
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduate tuition — nces.ed.gov
- Independent editorial research
| Rank | School | Location | Net price | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | Lasell University | Newton, MA | ~$12,000/yr (est.) | Teachers wanting paid district internships | |
A hybrid, 24-month route to Moderate Disabilities PreK-8 licensure with 300 clinical hours, evening classes, and paid internships in Arlington, Boston, Newton and Wellesley schools. A five-year federal grant now funds full tuition and stipends for a cohort of special education scholars. Median earnings four years after finishing were $59,783. No entrance examTest optional
| |||||
| #2 | American International College | Springfield, MA | ~$13,000/yr (est.) | Western Massachusetts career changers | |
Initial licensure in Moderate Disabilities for PreK-2, PreK-8 or grades 5-12, taught synchronously online one night a week in eight-week terms. The 300-hour practicum can often run in your own district, and the college reports 87% of graduates working in Massachusetts K-12 schools. Median earnings four years out were $67,742.
| |||||
| #3 | Endicott College | Beverly, MA | $15,000 – $20,000/yr (est.) | Aspiring BCBA practitioners | |
Two routes: a 36-credit Moderate Disabilities M.Ed. for PreK-8 or 5-12 licensure, and a 51-credit Special Education and ABA master's leading to BCBA certification. Both include a 300-hour practicum, and coursework runs fully online. Graduates earned a median $63,477 four years after finishing. Military benefits
| |||||
| #4 | Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts | North Adams, MA | $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.) | ||
At $485 per credit, this fully online M.Ed. keeps costs low while offering Moderate Disabilities tracks for PreK-8 and grades 5-12, including an accelerated one-year option for career changers. Free MTEL vouchers and 14 licensure pathways add flexibility. The university graduates 56% of its students overall. Fully online option
| |||||
| #5 | Bay Path University | Longmeadow, MA | ~$15,000/yr (est.) | ||
A fully online MS in Education/Special Education with 11 concentration options, including initial licensure tracks in severe disabilities PreK-12 and moderate disabilities PreK-8, each with a yearlong practicum. Three start dates a year suit teachers already in a classroom. Graduates five years out reported a median $65,641.
| |||||
| #6 | Bridgewater State University | Bridgewater, MA | ~$9,000/yr (est.) | ||
The M.Ed. in Special Education carries an Applied Behavior Analysis concentration whose sequence meets the academic requirements for the BCBA exam. A fall 2026 partnership with Massachusetts education collaboratives adds online initial licensure cohorts at $1,000 per three-credit course for eligible staff. Median earnings four years out were $64,424 against typical graduate debt of $20,500.
| |||||
| #7 | Worcester State University | Worcester, MA | ~$7,000/yr (est.) | ||
A campus M.Ed. for already licensed teachers, plus a 14-month, 37-credit online version that admits candidates without a license and is TEACH Grant eligible. Campus students can transfer up to 12 credits and finish with a thesis and portfolio. Six start dates a year keep the online track flexible.
| |||||
| #8 | Cambridge College | Boston, MA | $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.) | ||
A hybrid Teacher of Students with Moderate Disabilities and Applied Behavior Analysis master's prepares candidates for a Massachusetts license and BCBA certification, with evening and weekend classes. A separate Spanish-language M.Ed. serves Puerto Rico licensed teachers. Median earnings four years after finishing were $48,826.
No entrance examTest optional
| |||||
| #9 | Westfield State University | Westfield, MA | $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.) | ||
A post-licensure M.Ed. for teachers who already hold a Massachusetts license and want the degree rather than a new credential. Related Moderate Disabilities tracks run at PreK-8 and grades 5-12 in both initial and professional formats. Median earnings four years out were $60,630.
| |||||
| #10 | Salem State University | Salem, MA | $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.) | ||
The initial licensure M.Ed. places candidates in a 300-hour practicum across more than 50 partner schools in Greater Boston and the North Shore, with courses offered synchronously and asynchronously online. Concurrent certificates in autism spectrum disorders or TESOL are available. Median earnings four years out were $63,889.
| |||||
Initial vs. Professional Licensure: Which Path Fits You?
No teaching license is required to begin a Massachusetts special education master's program on the Initial route. DESE's 2026 rules let career changers enter with a bachelor's degree, pass the Communication and Literacy Skills Test, clear a competency review, and complete a supervised practicum. A master's program built for initial licensure embeds those requirements in its coursework and field placement.
Initial or Professional?
Initial is the entry license. Professional is the advanced one, and Massachusetts expects at least three years of employment under an Initial license plus an induction and mentoring program. A master's can serve either goal: some programs prepare you for a first license, while post-licensure programs deepen practice for licensed teachers.
Moderate or Severe?
Moderate Disabilities comes in PreK-2, PreK-8, and 5-12 bands. Severe Disabilities comes in PreK-2 and All levels. Moderate settings blend inclusive classrooms with substantially separate rooms; severe placements center students with intensive needs.
The practicum requirement
DESE sets a 300-hour practicum for both licenses. Moderate PreK-2 and PreK-8 candidates spend 75 hours in inclusive settings and 225 in separate settings; the 5-12 band splits 150 and 150. Severe candidates need at least 75 inclusive hours and 150 hours with severe disabilities, with the remaining 75 in either setting. A practicum equivalent must match those hours and be jointly supervised, and you must carry full responsibility for the role for at least 100 hours.1
Which route fits?
Career changers without a license start with Initial.1 Teachers already licensed and employed under an Initial license move toward Professional after three years and induction, often using the master's to satisfy advanced requirements.
The MTEL Tests You Will Face for a Special Education License
Online, Hybrid, or on Campus: Format Differences and Practicum Rules
Format covers two separate decisions in Massachusetts: how you attend class and where you complete fieldwork. The second one almost never moves online.
Where the coursework happens
Several schools run special education master's degrees mostly online, including American International College, MCLA, Bay Path University and Fitchburg State. Lasell University, Cambridge College and UMass Boston use hybrid schedules that mix online classes with campus sessions, Endicott College offers both formats, and Bridgewater State, Worcester State, Westfield State and Salem State teach on campus.
The practicum stays in a Massachusetts school
State rules require supervised practicum in an eligible setting: a Massachusetts public school, an approved private special education school, an EEC-approved preschool, a collaborative, or a school that requires Massachusetts licensure. Supervision is joint, and you carry full responsibility for the licensed role for at least 100 hours. Moderate and severe disabilities licenses each call for 300 practicum hours. Online coursework waives none of it. UMass Boston pairs 75 pre-practicum hours with a supervised practicum and helps students not already working in a district find a Boston placement. Salem State reports partnerships with more than 50 area schools.
Format by region
Boston and Worcester put campus options within a short commute. Springfield has American International College and nearby Westfield State. Cape Cod has no program of its own, so online delivery from MCLA, Bay Path or Fitchburg State removes the drive.
One practical tip
Ask in writing who secures your site, and whether your own school or district can host it. American International College, for example, places practicum hours in a student's current school.
Graduate Tuition at the Most Affordable Programs
These figures show annual in-state graduate tuition and fees before any financial aid, from lowest to highest. Worcester State, MCLA, Westfield State, Bridgewater State and Salem State are public state universities. Gordon College is the lone private school in this group, and its tuition still lands below Bridgewater State and Salem State. Out-of-state students pay more at some public schools; Salem State lists $11,069.

Schools in Massachusetts
Explore other Massachusetts related topics
Related Articles
Paying for It: TEACH Grants, Loan Forgiveness and School Aid
Three federal programs do most of the aid work for special education graduate students in Massachusetts; the rest depends on your school and your employer.
Federal grants and forgiveness
- TEACH Grant: Up to $4,000 a year, capped at $8,000 total for graduate students. It is not automatic: you need the FAFSA, an eligible licensure program, and the academic standard your school sets (UMass Amherst requires a 3.25 GPA and has students apply after their first semester). In return you teach four full-time years within eight calendar years in a high-need field at a school serving low-income students. Miss that obligation and the entire award becomes a Direct Unsubsidized Loan, with interest accruing from the original disbursement date.
- Teacher Loan Forgiveness: Special education counts as a high-need subject, raising the maximum to $17,500 from the standard $5,000 cap after five complete, consecutive years at a qualifying low-income school. Your students must match the training you were licensed for.
- Public Service Loan Forgiveness: Separate from Teacher Loan Forgiveness and not limited to classroom staff, so district specialists and related-services roles can qualify.2
State and school-level help
MASSGrant and MASSGrant Plus are undergraduate awards, so plan around federal and institutional aid instead. The Massachusetts Educator Loan Repayment Program offers up to $7,500 for four years of work in a Massachusetts public district, but it requires a bachelor's degree earned from a Massachusetts public college on or after January 1, 2020.1 School-level money varies, assistantships, tuition waivers and licensure scholarships are common, and it is the biggest factor behind the tuition figures shown above.
If you are already employed in a district, ask HR about tuition reimbursement before you borrow. Many Massachusetts districts contribute, and that money does not carry a service obligation you can fail.
What Special Education Master's Graduates Earn and Owe
These figures come from U.S. Department of Education data (IPEDS and College Scorecard) for special education master's graduates at each school, not campus-wide averages. Earnings are median annual pay one, four and five years after completion. Debt is the median amount borrowed for the program. Boston College and UMass Boston do not report a program-level debt figure, so those cells read "Not reported." UMass Boston posts the highest first-year median ($65,431), and Salem State pairs the lowest reported median debt ($19,649) with the strongest five-year median ($71,472).
| School | Program | Median Earnings, 1 Year After | Median Earnings, 4 Years After | Median Earnings, 5 Years After | Median Debt | Completions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salem State University | Master of Education in Special Education, Initial Licensure | $58,024 | $63,889 | $71,472 | $19,649 | 26 |
| Boston College | Master of Education in Special Education for Moderate Support Needs | $59,583 | $71,459 | $70,475 | Not reported | 26 |
| American International College | MEd in Moderate Disabilities | $60,590 | $67,742 | $69,407 | $23,297 | 88 |
| Lesley University | Inclusive Special Education (Moderate or Severe Disabilities) | $58,625 | $68,384 | $68,653 | $32,257 | 51 |
| University of Massachusetts-Boston | Special Education MEd | $65,431 | $70,150 | $68,260 | Not reported | 48 |
| Simmons University | Master of Science in Education: Autism Specialization with Severe Disabilities Licensure | $58,142 | $69,110 | $67,856 | $36,597 | 50 |
| Bridgewater State University | Special Education, Applied Behavior Analysis Concentration, MEd | $57,760 | $64,424 | $65,706 | $20,500 | 80 |
Special Education Teacher Pay in Massachusetts With a Master's
BLS reports a May 2025 national median of $67,170 for special education teachers,1 but a national number says little about a Massachusetts paycheck. Local figures take two lookups: area wages and district pay schedules.
Start With BLS Area Wages
Go to BLS.gov and open the Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) tool. Choose the special education teacher occupations (the data splits them by school level), then select Massachusetts, then repeat for the Boston-Cambridge-Newton metro area. Statewide and metro figures can differ because each reflects a different mix of employers and local labor conditions. For context, educational instruction and library occupations in the Boston metro averaged $41.04 per hour in May 2025, against $32.47 nationally.2 That is a broad occupational group, not a special education figure, and BLS does not separate pay by degree.
Read District Salary Schedules
BLS will not show a master's premium, so check individual district websites, usually under HR or staff contracts, for salary schedules and collective bargaining agreements. Look for:
- Master's lane: the column that applies to your degree.
- Steps: how pay rises with each year of service within that lane.
- Credit differentials: columns such as M+30 that pay more for graduate credits beyond the degree.
The state's teacher salary report shows districtwide averages (Cambridge Public Schools lists $107,958 for 2026), but those blend every degree level and are not a lane figure.
Use Association and State Resources
The Massachusetts Teachers Association, the Massachusetts Association of Special Education Administrators, and the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education all offer contract language, salary context, and district-level information.
Practical Next Steps
- Compare BLS area wages with the master's-lane schedules of districts you would consider.
- Contact district HR to confirm current placement rules for new hires.
- Check the contract year on every schedule, since published schedules and BLS estimates may cover different periods.
Matching a Program to Your Background, Budget and Schedule
Massachusetts districts keep posting special education openings that go unfilled, so the right program is the one that gets you licensed and into a classroom on a schedule you can sustain.
Start With Your Situation
- Career-changer: You need initial licensure. Look at Salem State's Initial Licensure program, Worcester State, Lasell, Merrimack or Boston College, and confirm student teaching is built in.
- Licensed teacher adding a field: A post-licensure track such as Westfield State's may fit, and a non-licensure option like Worcester State's can work if you only want the degree.
- Working parent: Ask each school about evening, weekend, hybrid or online sections. Cambridge College and Bay Path are worth a first call.
Choose Your Fork, Then Budget and Format
Decide between moderate and severe disabilities first. Lesley and Simmons offer severe disabilities options, and many other schools here focus on moderate disabilities. After that, weigh tuition, program-level debt and format, in that order. Debt figures show what past graduates actually borrowed; sticker prices do not.
Your Next Step
Before applying, confirm the program is approved by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) for the license you want. Then ask the admissions office how practicum placements are arranged and whether the school finds them for you or expects you to.
More Massachusetts Special Education Programs Worth a Look
The programs below round out this directory for readers who want to compare regions, formats and degree options beyond the ranked list above. Each entry gives the city, the delivery format the school reports and the program's own description, so a nearby campus option and an online option can be weighed side by side.







