What you’ll learn in this article…
- Published tuition for U.S. programs runs roughly $10,000 to $32,000.
- Valdosta State charges Georgia residents $6,316, nonresidents $18,934.
- Confirm in writing that your state approves the program for principal licensure.
A principal-track master's typically runs 30 to 36 credits plus an internship, and the per-credit rate varies far more than the coursework does. Graduate tuition is set by the university rather than the education department, and residency status alone can shift the rate by hundreds of dollars a credit, which compounds into five figures across a full degree.
Cost is not the only consideration. A program also has to be state-approved for administrator certification where you teach, and the internship hours have to fit around a contracted school day. Tuition and fees, which every school reports, are the price that compares most cleanly across state lines.
What a Master's in Educational Leadership Typically Costs
How much will a master's in educational leadership cost in total? Published tuition for current U.S. programs runs from roughly $10,000 to $32,000. That range comes from individual program rates, not a single national average, and it works out to about $350 to $1,048 per credit.
The low end is American College of Education, whose 34-credit M.Ed. totals $9,976, and Arkansas State's online M.S.E., at $350 per credit with fees included ($11,550 for 33 credits). The high end is Penn State World Campus at $1,048 per credit, or $31,440 for 30 credits.1 Kentucky ($653 per credit)2 and Regis ($679 per credit) land near $20,000. For budgeting, plan on $12,000 to $30,000 for most programs.
Per-Credit vs. Flat-Rate Pricing
Most programs bill per credit, so the total is the rate times the credits. Some schools instead charge a flat amount per term, which rewards students who take heavier loads and penalizes those who go slowly. Penn State's rate, for example, applies to students taking 11 or fewer credits a semester. Two programs with the same credit count can therefore end up thousands of dollars apart.
Credit Counts and Fees
Principal-track programs usually require 30 to 36 credits. Kentucky, Regis, and Penn State list 30. Arkansas State and the University of St. Francis list 33. Northern Colorado ranges from 30 to 39 depending on the concentration and licensure combination.3
Fees can add substantially to the bill. Some totals include them, as at Arkansas State and Fitchburg State. Others quote tuition only, and application, technology, internship, or certification charges may be billed separately.
Do Online Programs Charge Out-of-State Tuition?
It depends on the school. Fitchburg State's online M.Ed. charges the same rate to in-state and out-of-state students. Other schools keep a residency split even online, so confirm the rate for your state before comparing totals.
The 10 Lowest-Cost Educational Leadership Master's Programs, Ranked for 2027
Ten educational leadership master's programs that combine low published graduate tuition with a clear route to a principal or administrator credential in the state where the school sits. Most are built for working teachers, so you can keep a classroom job while you finish the degree. Where a program adds its own fees, offers a transfer-credit option, or splits into a degree-only and a certification route, the card spells that out.
- Published graduate tuition and fees
- Credit hours to completion
- Principal certification pathway
- Delivery format and flexibility
- Institutional graduation and retention rates
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduate tuition — nces.ed.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
- Independent editorial research
| Rank | School | Location | Net price | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | Texas A&M University-Texarkana | Texarkana, TX | ~$6,000/yr (est.) | Texas teachers pursuing principal certification | |
A Texas A&M System campus in northeast Texas, Texarkana runs its educational leadership master's entirely online and holds the whole degree to 30 credit hours. The program is built around Texas principal certification, with two 16-week practicum courses and instructors who currently work in schools. Regional employer partnerships can cut tuition further for eligible students, and completers can continue into the university's online Doctor of Education in Education Leadership without changing institutions.
| |||||
| #2 | Texas A&M University-Kingsville | Kingsville, TX | ~$6,000/yr (est.) | Educators choosing between degree and certification | |
Texas A&M University-Kingsville has prepared South Texas school leaders for more than 80 years and now delivers its educational administration master's fully online. Students pick among a degree-only route, a degree plus principal certification route, and a certification-only route, with the full degree finishing in about 12 months. The program is accredited by SACS and the Texas Education Agency, and certification candidates must clear the state principal exam before they begin the internship.
| |||||
| #3 | Texas A&M University-Central Texas | Killeen, TX | $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.) | Principal candidates who want hands-on mentoring | |
Texas A&M University-Central Texas serves the Killeen area with a hybrid leadership master's that pairs online coursework with four on-campus sessions. Every candidate is mentored by a practicing principal and logs a 160-hour practicum, which keeps the fieldwork tied to the realities of a Texas campus. It is designed for working educators and points squarely at the Principal as Instructional Leader certification exam.
| |||||
| #4 | Martin Luther College | New Ulm, MN | ~$6,000/yr (est.) | ||
Martin Luther College is a small private Lutheran institution in New Ulm, Minnesota, where leadership preparation sits inside the Master of Science in Education rather than as a standalone degree. The program runs online, so teachers outside Minnesota can complete it without relocating. Classes stay small, with a student-faculty ratio near 10 to 1, and the setting suits educators who want leadership training grounded in a faith-based school tradition.
| |||||
| #5 | University of North Texas at Dallas | Dallas, TX | ~$6,000/yr (est.) | ||
The University of North Texas at Dallas shapes its educational leadership master's around urban schools, reflecting the district landscape its graduates step into. Courses run in hybrid and face-to-face formats with some fully online sections, and students move through as a cohort that finishes in under two years. The degree prepares candidates for the TExES principal exam and the AEL certification Texas requires of campus leaders.
| |||||
| #6 | Sul Ross State University | Alpine, TX | $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.) | ||
Sul Ross State University is a public institution in the Big Bend country of West Texas, and its leadership master's is built around the rural and borderland districts the region depends on. The 30-credit degree is campus-based at Alpine, while a separate principal certification track is offered at several sites and online. Coursework stresses instructional leadership, cultural competency, data-informed decisions, and ethical leadership.
| |||||
| #7 | Albany State University | Albany, GA | ~$5,000/yr (est.) | ||
Albany State University is a public historically Black university in southwest Georgia with a long record of preparing teachers for the state's schools. Its leadership master's requires 250 clinical hours spread across elementary, middle, and high school settings, so candidates see leadership at every level before they finish. The degree leads to Georgia Tier I Leadership Certification and readies candidates for the GACE leadership content and ethics exams.
| |||||
| #8 | Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi | Corpus Christi, TX | ~$7,000/yr (est.) | ||
Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi delivers its educational administration master's fully online, with core courses in the principalship, supervision of teaching and learning, and the Texas teacher appraisal system. A two-part practicum and a comprehensive exam cap the degree, and the exam runs three times a year so candidates are not locked into a single window. Admission is selective, requiring strong undergraduate and graduate GPAs plus a goal statement and a scored interview.
| |||||
| #9 | West Texas A & M University | Canyon, TX | $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.) | ||
West Texas A&M University in Canyon offers unusual flexibility: a degree-only path for educators who do not hold a teaching certificate, and a certification path for those who do. The program covers instructional leadership, curriculum expertise, and reflective practice, and adds a superintendent certification option for leaders aiming higher. Hybrid delivery suits teachers across the Texas Panhandle who cannot commute to campus daily.
| |||||
| #10 | Adams State University | Alamosa, CO | ~$6,000/yr (est.) | ||
Adams State University is a public institution in the San Luis Valley of Colorado, and its principal license program sits inside the Master of Arts in Education. The 39-credit sequence runs six semesters and covers leadership, curriculum and assessment, plus school management, law, and finance. Completers qualify for a Colorado principal license, and adding the endorsement requires passing the state PLACE content exam.
| |||||
How We Priced Every Program on a Level Playing Field
Every school publishes a tuition and fee figure, so that is the common yardstick for the programs compared here. Net price after financial aid is not reported for graduate programs, which means a sticker-price comparison is the fairest option available.
In-state and out-of-state figures appear separately. Many public universities charge far more to nonresidents, and a single blended number would hide that difference from the students who pay it.
Debt and earnings figures for completers come from College Scorecard, which reports them at the program level. That makes them more useful than institution-wide averages, though they describe past graduates, not a promise for your own outcome.
Limits to Keep in Mind
- Graduation rates: These are institution-wide, so they do not reflect completion in the educational leadership program itself.
- Credit counts: Required credits vary by track, such as principal licensure versus a degree-only path, so total cost can differ from a per-credit comparison.
- Fees: Technology, practicum, and program fees differ by school and by track, and they can shift the final bill.
Rates change from year to year. Before you build a budget, confirm the current rate, fees, and credit requirements for your chosen track with the school's bursar.
How Much Does Residency Change the Bill at the Cheapest Schools?
At some low-cost schools, residency changes the bill dramatically. Valdosta State lists $6,316 in graduate tuition for Georgia residents and $18,934 for nonresidents, and Albany State rises from $5,008 to $15,880. At others it changes nothing: Adams State, Fitchburg State and Martin Luther College each publish a single rate, a common setup for online programs that charge every student the same price regardless of home state. East Central University also lists a nonresident tuition waiver. Before you compare, confirm which rate your specific program will actually charge you.

Is It Worth It? Debt and Earnings for Completers
Federal College Scorecard data from the U.S. Department of Education shows what graduates of each program borrowed and what they earned one and four years after finishing. At Sul Ross State and UT Rio Grande Valley, median debt is under a third of first-year earnings, and the 10-year payment takes roughly 3 to 4 percent of first-year pay. Fitchburg State posts the highest earnings here, though no program-level debt figure is reported for it, so weigh debt against earnings rather than comparing sticker prices alone.
| School | Completers in Federal Cohort | Median Debt | Median Monthly Payment (10-Year Plan) | Median Earnings, 1 Year After Completion | Median Earnings, 4 Years After Completion |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitchburg State University (MA) | 57 | Not reported | Not reported | $79,347 | $89,717 |
| Sul Ross State University (TX) | 7 | $14,250 | $162 | $67,128 | $74,084 |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (TX) | 151 | $17,819 | $203 | $61,569 | $66,977 |
The per-credit rate is only the sticker price. Add mandatory fees, travel for any campus residency, and the extra coursework your state requires for licensure, and the total cost of the degree is what you actually pay.
Related Articles
More Low-Cost Educational Leadership Programs to Consider
The schools below sit just outside the top of our affordability ranking, and each one keeps graduate tuition in a range that working teachers can manage. Formats range from fully online to hybrid and on-campus, and several lead directly to principal licensure in their state. Treat this as a directory to research further rather than a ranking.







